TRAILS FOR LIFE

Trails offer perfect opportunities for Quad Cities' residents and visitors to explore and move. The simplicity of getting out and walking or riding a bike opens trail experiences to all members of the community, regardless of age or ability. From walking the dog to cross country skiing, Quad Cities area trails offer year-round experiences to be active in an informal setting. Trails in the Quad Cities offer diverse opportunities for recreation and offer some spectacular views of the area. Many Quad Cities trails are mostly flat, allowing for family-friendly walks or rides, doubling as active transportation routes for commuters choosing to get a workout while going to and from work or school. 

QC TRAIL GROUPS

There are various Quad Cities Trail Groups that provide an avenue to explore trails with like-minded groups and organizations. There are opportunities for moderate “family-friendly” walks with small groups, as well as larger more strenuous trails that may be more appropriate for more dedicated trail enthusiasts and athletes.  For instance, the American Discovery Trail crosses both the state of Iowa and Illinois and extends a length of 57.3 miles, whereas the Centennial Park Trail is a brisk 0.6 miles that extends through Centennial Park in Davenport, Iowa.

Bi-State Regional Trail Committee (Multi-Purpose Trails Planning) • https://bistateonline.org/transportation-and-mobility/regional-trails-system

Quad Cities Bicycle Club • http://www.qcbc.org/

Maps • https://www.qcbc.org/content.aspx?page_id=22&club_id=505193&module_id=337719

Events • https://www.qcbc.org/content.aspx?page_id=22&club_id=505193&module_id=317677

Friends of Off Road Cycling (FORC) • http://www.qcforc.org/

Maps •  http://www.qcforc.org/content.php?190-quad-cities-area-mountain-bike-trails

River Action • http://www.riveraction.org/http://www.riveraction.org/trails

Quad Cities Wild Places • http://qcwildplaces.com/

Let’s Move Quad Cities • http://letsmoveqc.com/

Ride Illinois • http://rideillinois.org/

Iowa National Heritage Foundation • http://www.inhf.org/iowa-trails.cfm

Great River Trail • http://greatrivertrail.org/

Mississippi River Trail • https://rideillinois.org/maps/mississippi-river-trail-guide/

American Discovery Trail • http://discoverytrail.org/

Grand Illinois Trail • https://dnr.illinois.gov/recreation/greenwaysandtrails/grandillinoistrail.html

Hennepin Canal Parkway Trail •  https://dnr.illinois.gov/parks/park.hennepincanal.html

Cody Trail • http://www.scottcountyiowa.com/conservation/buffalo-bill-cody-homestead/cody-trail

Illinois Department of Natural Resources •  https://dnr.illinois.gov/

Greenways and Trails •  https://dnr.illinois.gov/recreation/greenwaysandtrails.html

Hiking • https://dnr.illinois.gov/recreation/hiking.html

Biking • https://dnr.illinois.gov/recreation/biking.html

Canoe/Kayaking • https://dnr.illinois.gov/recreation/canoekayak.html

Cross Country/Skiing • https://dnr.illinois.gov/recreation/xcountryski.html

Horseback Riding • https://dnr.illinois.gov/recreation/horsebackriding.html

Iowa Department of Natural Resources • http://www.iowadnr.gov

Hiking/Biking Trails  http://www.iowadnr.gov/Things-to-Do/Hiking-Biking

Canoe/Kayaking  http://www.iowadnr.gov/Things-to-Do/Canoeing-Kayaking

Equestrian • http://www.iowadnr.gov/Things-to-Do/Equestrian

Iowa Trails 2000 • https://publications.iowa.gov/10739/1/connecting_people_trails_handbook.pdf

TrailLink.com • http://www.traillink.com/trail/great-river-trail.aspx

AllTrails.com • http://www.alltrails.com

Trail Tips

Ride Safe

When biking, wear a helmet and use a bell to signal your approach to other trail users. Consider bringing a spare tube and pump so that you can fix a flat tire and offer help to other cyclists in need. When riding on roads, bike in the same direction as traffic.

Sponsored by:

Be Healthy QC

Connect on Facebook

QC Trails is presented by